A little bit of Perth from Raewyn’s house

Its 2am, and I can’t sleep. I just put the kids back to bed for another round of sleeping after some popcorn and Looney Tunes.  We are back in Alaska and thought I’d continue or journey.  More for me than you all, but you are welcome to read along and comment and gaze at my lovely Australia.

I just couldn’t get around to blogging. I had to upload pics the LONG way, so it wasn’t very inspiring. PLUS… Our family took turns getting some nasty flu bug, we moved every 3-4 days, and … wait for it… I’m pregnant! 🙂 SO throw in a little nausea and a bunch of extra exhaustion on top of normal travel and jet lag weariness and … I didn’t blog!

SO here is our first few days in Perth.

Bryan was VERY sick on the way over. chills shaking his body, etc. Our trip to and from Perth was the ‘cheap’ (that’s relative!!) midnight flight. Our flight from Cairns to Brisbane was so delayed we missed our connecting flight to Perth, so had to stay in Brisbane the night. We were less than impressed, but enjoyed the sleep!

We stayed the first few days with my sis Raewyn, and got to know her little six month old Gregan, (pronounced Greegan) who is ADORABLE.

Shand much time switching pacifiers with him, feeding him… or just eating it herself…

Raewyn spoiled us, buying all kinds of Aussie treats we grew up with… here is Keenan and Thad having a sample one night. Freckles, bananas, musk sticks, bullets (choc covered licorice) milk bottles, jaffas…

Each morning they woke up and watched Sponge Bob with a cup of Milo (sort of healthy hot chocolate) and a blanket… what a tradition! 🙂

We spent some time with other relatives. Spent the day at King’s Park in Perth with the four sisters. its the best park EVER, smack dab in the middle of the city over looking the Swan River. gorgeous… and its WILDFLOWER season! 🙂 It has 4 different parks, We saw lots of birds, including a pair of kookaburras which did their thing (laughing) very well and frequently to my boys delight. There are too many pics to choose from, so I’ll skip on that. the amount of amazing plant varieties, and beautiful children shots, and the parks and trees and gums and ghost gums… its amazing. You just MUST go! 🙂 BUT I will share this picture of Shand… she found her nostril. Its momentous, really!

We got to have morning tea with an internet friend, now REAL LIFE friend Val at Pause for a Moment

She REALLY knows how to put on a morning tea!! 🙂

Rae and I had a day out shopping with just us (and Gregan) while Bryan and the boys stayed home and vegged… Bryan recovering, and Keenan in full swing with the flu.

Then we headed up to Mukinbudin to visit my eldest sister Rachel and her family. Brad is a pastor in this wheatbelt town and also pastors another church at the moment. They have a wonderful ministry. Its a whole nuther post, and not my story, so I’ll probably never share it, but suffice to say they have seen much adversity both of the spiritual kind and physical kind, and natural disaster kind… and they are seeing the fruits of discipleship and prayer and faith and God’s grace and power. awesome stuff. More pics Muka later.

About reneegrace

A place to record my journey of creating a life of balance. First as God's child and bride, "wifing", mothering, homeschooling, leading worship, neighboring, mentoring, teaching piano, and the myriad of other things that clamor for my time and energy. And a place to put pictures to show my family whom I miss incredibly, and who live so very far away from us here in Alaska!! View all posts by reneegrace

8 responses to “A little bit of Perth from Raewyn’s house

  • javamamma

    You’re pregnant!?!?! Congratulations!

    I’m envious of your trip. We have a guy from our church in Sydney at Hillsong right now. I’d LOVE to go someday. Maybe for our 25th? That’s only 14 years away. 😉 Of course I don’t have family there. How great to get to re-connect with all your fam!

  • Lydia

    Oh my GOSH, Renee! I can’t believe it! How exciting! Wow (so conceived in Australia? or has it not been long enough). Congratulations to both of you!

    Your trip sounds SO wonderful. It must be a lot of fun to have a different cultural background. I REALLY want to have a group to do a once-a-month ethnic dinner, and Australia would be a good choice–you could pass me on a bunch of recipes.

    It’s nice to have you back!

  • Leah

    Yay for the happy news!!

    🙂

    ~Leah

  • Emily

    Raewyn has got to be one of the most beautiful names! wow. love that.

    and WAHOO on your preggers news. Yet another beautiful little baby to add to your Alaskan brood. Good times. 🙂

  • EEEEMommy

    Congrats on your pregnancy! 🙂 How exciting!
    So sorry to hear you were all dealing with the flu, but you appear to have a had a wonderful time despite it!

  • CC

    Your trip sounds so wonderful..I’ve enjoyed reading of your adventures.. I’m surely enjoying BATW…p.s. I’m CC from Texas

  • Valerie

    Hey, my friend! MANY congratulations on the preggie news – wonderful! A little Perth baby.

    Things have been a bit nuts around here, busy busy.

    I wish we could have caught up again – when do you come here to live?? 🙂

  • Valerie

    Oh – I nabbed the pic for my facebook page! You look great!

Leave a comment